Past Winners

Session I - CLOSED
Open -
January, 2018
Deadline - June 15, 2018 - 11:59PM PST
Winner Announcement -
September 1, 2018
12 Grand Prize Winners (one in each category) and 36 Finalists (three in each category)

Session II - CLOSED
Open -
June 16, 2018
Deadline - December 15, 2018 - 11:59PM PST
Winner Announcement -
March 1, 2019
12 Grand Prize Winners (one in each category) and 36 Finalists (three in each category)

12 Lennon Awards
Winner Announcement -

May 1, 2018

Grand Prize Winners of Session I and Session II will compete head-to-head in an online voting battle to become the Lennon Award Winner in their respective category.

Song of the Year
Winner Announcement -

July, 2018
The 12 Lennon Award Winners will compete for the Song of the Year and $20,000.

Awards and Prizes
facebook twitter
instagram Lennonbus
Imagine Peace

Enter the Contest

Contact Us

2012 Song of the Year

Jonas Friddle & The Majority

New York, NY (July 30, 2013) --- Jonas Friddle & The Majority, a 7-piece Folk band from Chicago, IL was announced winner of the coveted "Song of the Year" of the 16th annual John Lennon Songwriting Contest for their original song "Belle de Louisville". As Song of the Year Winners, Jonas Friddle & The Majority won $20,000 in cash in addition to prizes from Avid, Mackie and Digital Media Academy in addition to a ton of other prizes they've taken home throughout 2012.

Jonas Friddle & The Majority is composed of music teachers from Old Town School of Folk Music in Chicago, IL where they all met and became a band. They would describe themselves as "orchestral-folk music" and the group is comprised of a string section, brass, organ, banjo and drums and their songs are deeply rooted in the string band and blues traditions of American Roots music.

A total of over $300,000 in cash and prizes will be distributed this year by the year-round contest open to both amateur and professional songwriters. Visit for more information on the contest and to enter for your chance to become our next Song of the Year winner.




Yamaha OWC Audio-Technica Line 6 Genelec Neutrik Propellerhead Sonicbids Disc Makers NAMM Digital Media Academy D'Addario Focusrite Guitar Player Mackie Electronic Musician Bass Player Keyboard