Session I - CLOSED
Open -
February, 2016
Deadline - June 15, 2016 - 11:59PM PST
Winner Announcement -
September 1, 2016
12 Grand Prize Winners (one in each category) and 36 Finalists (three in each category)

Session II - OPEN
Open -
June 16, 2016
Deadline - December 15, 2016 - 11:59PM PST
Winner Announcement -
March 1, 2017
12 Grand Prize Winners (one in each category) and 36 Finalists (three in each category)

12 Lennon Awards
Winner Announcement -

May 1, 2016

Grand Prize Winners of Session I and Session II will compete head-to-head in an online voting battle to become the Lennon Award Winner in their respective category.

Song of the Year
Winner Announcement -

July, 2016
The 12 Lennon Award Winners will compete for the Song of the Year and $20,000.

Awards and Prizes
facebook twitter
blogger myspace
Imagine Peace

Enter the Contest

Contact Us

About the Contest

The John Lennon Songwriting Contest is an international songwriting contest that began in 1997. The Contest is open to amateur and professional songwriters who submit entries in any one of 12 categories. The JLSC is open year-round and features two Sessions -- with 72 Finalists, 24 Grand Prize Winners, 12 Lennon Award Winners and 1 "Song of the Year." All entry fees from the contest help support the non-profit John Lennon Educational Tour Bus mobile recording studio.

You don't need a professional recording. Entries will be judged on originality, melody, composition, and lyrics (when applicable). Your songs may be entered in any of the following categories: Rock, Country, Jazz, Pop, World, Rhythm & Blues, Hip Hop, Gospel/Inspirational, Latin, Electronic, Folk, and Children's. Instrumental compositions are encouraged.

George Clinton, The Black Eyed Peas, Prince Royce, 311 and Jim Steinman are some of the members on our Executive Committee of Judges

This year, we're giving away our biggest prize package yet totaling over $300,000.00! Every year, there are a total of 72 Finalists, 24 Grand Prize Winners, 12 Lennon Award Winners and 1 “Song of the Year.” Winners, based on their level of achievement, will receive studio equipment from Yamaha, OWC, Audio-Technica, Epiphone Guitars, Propellerhead, Neutrik, Genelec, SKB, Mackie and Ampeg, ZVEX Effects. The writer(s) of the “Song of the Year,” the highest honor bestowed in the contest, will receive a $20,000 check as well as $1000 prize pack from Mackie/Ampeg, ZVEX Effects loaded pedal board: Vexter Fuzz Factory, Vexter Box of Rock, Mastotron, Distortron, Vexter Instant Lo-Fi Junky, Vexter Sonar, Wah Probe, Vexter Box of Metal, Pedal Train board with power supply & cables, 200 12" Vinyl w/ full color Euro jackets from Disc Makers, SESAC prize package and a $1000 scholarship to Digital Media Academy.

In addition to the songwriting prizes, one band will win The JLSC Vans Warped Tour Prize presented by Neutrik USA and perform on Warped Tour for one week!

Click here for a complete list of PRIZES.


Each entry requires the following elements:
One song five (5) minutes or less (mp3, CD or cassette)
A lyric sheet -- no lyrics necessary for instrumental compositions
A payment -- $30.00 per song
A completed application

Read the Rules & Regulations carefully before entering.


Apple Neutrik SESAC Epiphone Sonicbids Yamaha Digital Media Academy Propellerhead Genelec Disc Makers Thomann NAMM Bass Player Electronic Musician Keyboard Guitar Player Audio-Technica OWC ZVEX effects