## **JAG Entertainment**

4265 Hazeltine Avenue · Sherman Oaks, CA 91423 · (818) 905-5511 · Fax (818) 501-4911

For Immediate Release:

## ROBIN GIBB, MATT PINFIELD, LYFE JENNINGS, JESSE HARRIS AND TEAIRRA MARI JUDGE LENNON CONTEST

## John Lennon Songwriting Contest Accepting Entries for 2005 Competition

(New York, September 7, 2005) -- The 2005 John Lennon Songwriting Contest has launched Session II and is accepting entries through December 15, 2005. The internationally renowned year-round Contest is open to both amateur and professional songwriters who can enter songs in one or more of 12 categories: Rock, Country, Jazz, Pop, World, Rhythm & Blues, Hip Hop, Gospel/Inspirational, Latin, Electronic, Folk, and/or Children's. Entries will be judged on originality, melody, composition, and lyrics (when applicable). Instrumental compositions are encouraged. Neither performance nor production value is considered by the judges who, for this Session, are Robin Gibb (Bee Gees' catalog is the greatest selling catalog of all time), Sony VP of A&R/former MTV VJ Matt Pinfield, Columbia artist Lyfe Jennings, songwriter Jesse Harris (Norah Jones) and chart-busting newcomer Teairra Mari. The Session II Grand Prize Winners' announcement will be made on March 1, 2006

Entries will be accepted through the mail, online at www.jlsc.com, where a complete set of rules can be found, and through www.sonicbids.com, which is offering a special 6 month membership package to those who enter. Prizes include EMI publishing contracts, studio equipment from Brian Moore Guitars, Roland, Edirol, and Audio-Technica, as well as 1,000 CDs in full color premium 6-panel Digipaks courtesy of Disc Makers and gift certificates from MusiciansFriend.com. In addition, one entrant in the rock category will be selected by Warped Tour founder Kevin Lyman to perform for one week on Warped Tour '06.

The two Sessions which make up this year's Contest will result in 72 Finalists and 24 Grand Prize Winners. The public will then be encouraged to vote on-line and help select the year's 12 Lennon Award Winners .The Maxell Song of the Year will be selected from those 12 Lennon Award Winners by the stellar Executive Committee which includes John Legend, Wyclef Jean, Elton John, Carlos Santana, Enrique Iglesias, Tim McGraw, Black Eyed Peas, Carol Bayer Sager, and a host of other renowned performers and songwriters. The \$20,000 check, courtesy of the Maxell Corporation, will be presented to the winning songwriter at the NAMM Summer Session in Austin, Texas in July '06.

Spin Doctors Photo available upon request.

## About the John Lennon Songwriting Contest:

The John Lennon Songwriting Contest, in its ninth year, is dedicated to providing opportunities to both professional and amateur songwriters. Winners in 12 categories receive awards and prizes totaling over \$240,000. The \$20,000 Maxell Song of the Year is selected by a stellar Executive Committee including Elton John, Tim McGraw, Wyclef Jean, Sugar Ray, Carlos Santana, Black Eyed Peas John Legend, Enrique Iglesias, Mary J. Blige, Nick Lachey, and many more. Sponsors of the Contest include Maxell, Roland, Brian Moore Guitars, Audio-Technica, EMI Music Publishing, musiciansfriend.com, and Disc Makers. The John Lennon Songwriting Contest is made possible by an agreement with Yoko Ono Lennon who said "I hope this Contest will encourage, inspire and help the songwriters of the world to share their dreams with us."

Contact: Jo-Ann Geffen, JAG PR (818) 905-5511 or jgeffen@jagpr.com